Sunday, September 12, 2010

Pocoyo – Story Time

Author – Red Fox

Pocoyo and his friends, Pato, Elly, and Loula, share four stories for young readers. The first, A Little Cloud, seems to be determined to put a damper on Pocoyo’s day. After what seems to be a battle of wits, Pocoyo and the cloud come to an agreement. The cloud has a lesson for Pocoyo and his friends about friendship. In Swept Away, Pocoyo is expecting company but has a mess to clean up first. When his imagination gets the best of him, he must hurry before Elly arrives. Why is it that toys must be picked up just to pull them out again? Pocoyo comes across an umbrella in the third story, Umbrella, Umbrella, and a new game is found. Sure enough the wind and rain aren’t far behind. The fourth story is all about a birthday party and what Pocoyo decides to give Elly. It’s all about Pocoyo and his imagination.

Pocoyo – Story Time is developed through the Learning Through Laughter Series, which is a television show. Children who do not have the advantage of watching the show on TV may not appreciate the characters, which come directly from the TV series. There is not any illustration, per se. also, the recommended reading level is 4-8. The text of the book is more conducive towards readers in the age group of 3-5, and better if it is backed up with the TV series.

BIBLIO: 2006, Random House Children’s Books, Ages 4-8, $9.99.
REVIEWER: Debby Willett
FORMAT: Picture Book
ISBN: 978-1-862-30391-1

REVIEWED FOR: Children’s Literature, Online Version, 9-9-10

No comments:

Post a Comment